About the Dashboard

The Millicast dashboard enables you to easily provision and manage your realtime streams and account settings.

Live Broadcast

Live broadcasting is instant and secure using the dashboard’s online broadcaster. The interface guides you through creating a secure token allowing your viewers to connect securely to your live stream via WebRTC.

Once you have successfully created your token you can publish a live stream instantly. A URL to a Viewer interface is created for you to instantly share your live stream with your audience, making publishing a complete, secure and simple process.

To learn more about tokens you can read the Managing Tokens.

The broadcaster interface connects instantly to your account, and gives you a link to share with your viewers. Your video is streamed via WebRTC to the Millicast service which globally distributes the feed to all of your viewers with sub-second latency.

To learn how to broadcast live from the Millicast dashboard go to How to Broadcast in Dashboard.

Account

The account section of the dashboard lets you manage your plan, account security, payment method and GEO-blocking.

Millicast plans include a monthly bandwidth allotment and a per GB fee for bandwidth used over the amount included with your plan. Here you can see how much bandwidth you have used for your current billing cycle.

In addition, Millicast plans also include storage. The plans come with an alloted amount storage space you can use for recordings. The storage usage under the Billing Info tab shows how many gigabyte/hour of usage have been accrued under the customer's current billing period.

If you need to scale your account for more storage or to handle more concurrent viewers and bandwidth, simply upgrade by clicking on the “Change Plan” button just below your plan description.

The security tab allows you to update your email and password. Simply click on the edit button next to the respective field and follow the steps.

Two-factor Authentication

Two-factor authentication provides an extra layer of security and helps to ensure only an authorized user has access to your account, even if the password becomes known to others.

Using a 3rd party authenticator application (IOS, Android) which generates a single-use verification code, the 2fa user will need to provide this code in order to login to the Millicast dashboard.

To enable this feature, navigate to the Account page in the Millicast dashboard, and click the pencil button to activate the 2fa service. This button will take you through the setup process needed to register your authenticator application.

When you have started this process, it is advised to complete the setup entirely to avoid any issues or missed information. Please have your authenticator application ready before starting the process.

Read the QR code on the screen with your authenticator application. Once the QR code is read, it will then generate a code on your device that will be required on the next window. Make sure you see the code on your device and click the Next button.

If you were to lose access to your device or to the authentication application, the 2fa system provides you with 10 emergency recovery codes. These codes are generated after your authentication application has been properly registered with the 2fa system. Each code has a one-time use, once they are all used up you will need to generate new ones. Write the codes down and keep them hidden and safe.

You’re all set !

Now that the 2fa system has synced and verified your application, anyone accessing your account will be required to enter a dynamically generated code from the synced authentication application. The generated login codes are valid for only a few seconds from your authentication application.

You can sync other devices with an Authentication application if needed to share access, or just to have more than 1 device to access with. To do this simply go back to the account page and click the 2fa button to open the 2fa management screen.

At the bottom of the 2fa management window you will see the same QR code you used to initially sync the last device, use the QR to sync another device.

The 2fa management window also lets you reset your QR code, which invalidates the last one, as well as other features like generating new emergency codes, or turning off the 2fa security all together.

🚧

If you generate new emergency codes, the old codes (if any still remaining) will be invalidated.

If you do lose your device and have to login with a code, you can simply click the small link below in the code login screen to enter a recovery code instead.

Once you have entered your account, the recovery code that was just used is no longer valid. You are now able to go into your account page and re-sync a new device following the process explained above.

If your device was stolen and you want to invalidate the old app, you can just go back into the 2fa popup and click the Reset button. This will take you through the steps of synchronising a new one.

❗️

You must resync any other devices if you had multiple synced with the last QR code.

Analytics

The Analytics page gives you a summary of how your bandwidth was consumed. This can give you good insight, not just how many people are viewing, but also from where they are viewing from.

The page is viewed in 4 parts, the first part is the Date Controller which is the main controller of the page. Altering the date will update the rest of the results on the page.

The next section is the chart. The chart gives you a visual representation of your bandwidth usage broken down by the ingress data coming into the service and the egress data going out as well as the sum of both.

if you prefer to see the data in a non visual chart, you can click the Table button to change the view to a data table. This will show the daily or hourly breakdown of the usage. Click the Chart button to return to the chart view.

The next section is the Geographical chart which displays the data based on your connections geographical regions. You can see the countries on the left chart display views using a hotspot coloring for ranking, while the table on the right gives you a view of the data.

Click on the "Views" button to toggle the left chart for a bandwidth view of your data usage.

This breaks down each region based on bandwidth usage instead of views.

📘

The analytic information in this area has an access window of 7 days, after that 7 day window you will no longer be able to access this per stream breakdown. You can read more about this limitation in our analytics Access Restrictions section of the Analytic API doc.

The final part is a simple high level overview of your total bandwidth. You can change the date range from a day to a week to a month to see what was used during that period or event.

Archive

The Archive section contains your recorded broadcasts giving access to preview and to download.

A storage meter above the archive list shows you how much of your storage your files are using. This helps you to better manage your storage space on your account.

Each item in the list allows you to download, delete or preview your archived media.

To preview simply click on the respective item on the list and the preview player will launch.

The preview player will display additional information about the media. To learn more read the Recording and Archives doc.


Did this page help you?